Must Have effects?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by BassGoblin, Dec 19, 2013.

1. BassGoblin

BassGoblin

I've always imagined the Bass guitar to be without effects. I have my first bass coming soon and I'm curious if you guys think there are any 'must have' effects for the bass.

2. Roy Vogt

Roy Vogt

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Accuracy, Carvin, Hotwire, Conklin Basses, DNA, Eden
    In most cases, you just need a good cable and an amp. Some genres (Metal, Funk, etc.) use Distortion, Envelope Filters, Flangers and the like. I personally went through using a lot of effects to where I use none unless someone asks me to and then I use a Behringer V-amp Pro Rack and MIDI foot controller.

3. klokker

klokker

I've been gigging for a few years now in a classic rock/country band and have never needed an effects pedal.

I do have a VT bass deluxe that I take to rehearsal and use as a DI. But it's off except for the buffered by pass now.

So for me the answer is none. But for others I assume many are necessary to pull off what they want to do musically.

4. ArtechnikA

ArtechnikA I endorsed a check once... Gold Supporting Member

You've loaded this a bit by posting in the Effects forum ;-)

What kind of music do you want to play?

For my music, almost nothing in the way of 'effects' is needed. I'll occasionally use a bit of chorus or reverb. Compression can be nice. EQ and DI are scarcely 'effects' although they are often found in pedal form - same with tuner. Pedal yes, 'effect' - no.
    A bit of drive can be nice in an ensemble setting to bump the level and change the sound when it's solo time. For 'classic rock' there's something of a vintage, tubey sound that comes with the genre, and various ways to get or emulate that sound.