MXR M80 phantom power

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Dugachug, Jan 21, 2013.


  1. Dugachug

    Dugachug

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    I was wondering if i bought an xlr cable could i connect my amp(ampeg pf-500) to my m80, and power it through the cable? God i hate using batteries lol.
     
  2. AllenLee

    AllenLee

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Good question! I have powered mine through an XLR cable to a powered mixer and know it works that way. Every other time I use it with a OneSpot power adapter to my amp. I do not have an XLR cable here at the house or else I'd try it.. hmm...

    I'm curious as well.
     
  3. AndyLES

    AndyLES

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    Phantom power comes from mixing consoles, not an amp.
     
  4. AllenLee

    AllenLee

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    That makes sense.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. irvinz

    irvinz

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    auckland, new zealand/malaysia
    Disclosures:
    has too much gas
    No
     
  7. RickenBoogie

    RickenBoogie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    +1 the MXR has a DI OUT. You're amp has a DI OUT. See where this is going?
     
  8. irvinz

    irvinz

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    auckland, new zealand/malaysia
    Disclosures:
    has too much gas
    Loose the amp? Hahahah
     

Share This Page