MXR M87 Bass Compressor Settings Help

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by tovey87, Oct 18, 2011.

1. tovey87

tovey87

I am a noob when it comes to compressors and need some help. I purchased a MXR M87 compressor today to go in my effects loop and eventhough I notice a change for the good in my tone, I'm not sure on how to achieve exactly what I want.

First of all I'm not sure if I should place it in the effects loop of my Trace Elliot with my other pedals (if so where about to achieve the best result, before after overdrive etc.) or place it before the amp.

Secondly, I want to have a punchy sound and I'm unsure how to set the m87 to achieve this. I have read Bongomania's FAQ (which is excellent) and he suggest set the ratio of compression to 8:1. I now know I have a slightly better understanding of what the attack and release knobs do but I have read various posts suggesting that having the correct input level on the pedal for my required sound is extremely important! I know I can use the meter on the pedal to help me reach the required amount of compression. Should I be aiming for the input level to light up the -3 to -7 dB LED or should it be a smaller difference?

Can anyone give me any assistance on this? I really want to maximise the potential of the pedal as it will really improve my overall tone!

Cheers
  2. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    So, while you're checking out the FAQ, be sure to read the sections on "how to use the effects loop on your amp" and "good settings".