1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

My 7 year old son

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Harlan, Feb 11, 2014.

1. Harlan

Harlan

My son wants to learn how to play bass. I just bought him a short scale bass and he almost never takes it off his neck. I have been playing for 30 years but have never tried to teach anybody. What would be the best route for me to take to teach such a young student? I want to keep it fun and exciting for him.

2. Zephrant

Zephrant

My 7yo enjoys Rocksmith. I got her a heart shaped bass of Xmas this year. I started out doing the frets, and let her do the strings. She also likes the built in games. I don't push her, as I want her to stay interested, and not view it as work.

My 10yo likes the songs better, and is not much interested in the games. I play bass as he plays lead.

Both enjoy hitting music stores with me too.

3. Andrew W.

Andrew W.

I'm sure he would like jamming with a real drummer. Great way to learn how bass fits into the context of a song, either with kids his age or someone a little older. Great way to develop a sense of rhythm and timing. Drum loops in DAW software are great for practicing too.

If you're unsure about how to teach him, you can also get him lessons. But as you probably already know well, don't push or force anything, haha.

4. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

This opinion comes from volunteering with 2rd and 3rd graders and helping them with their math facts. I have never taught music. I have taught, just not music.

You teaching your child will build memories, and that is what a parent is supposed to do. If at all possible you do the teaching.