1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

My Amp Problem - Green Player Needs Help! Please!

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by LikeLukin, Feb 3, 2014.

1. LikeLukin

LikeLukin

Hi Guys,
    I’ve been playing bass guitar for about 5 years now, and I really need some help deciding on a decent amp rig for me.
    First off, I play in a modern rock band, the drummer plays fairly loud, and both guitarists play fairly loud. We only play small club gigs. Portability is extremely important. The only bass I own is a 4-string American Standard P-Bass.

I purchased an SVT-CL, and an Ampeg 410HE to run it through about 5 years ago. After realizing that the amp and cab were a mismatch (4 ohm head, 8 ohm cab) and that a 410 is way too big to be carrying around as much as I was, I downsized my cab to an Aguilar DB210. I know, it’s ridiculous to be running an SVT through a 210 cab.
    This setup really doesn’t give me the sound I am looking for, the only way I can describe it is that it lacks balls, not in terms of volume, but in terms of tone. I assume this is because of the small cabinet I am using. I also hate lugging around that behemoth SVT, so it has to go.

Here’s the problem: I really don’t know what to get. I was thinking about trading my SVT-CL towards a new V4B reissue, but I am assuming that I still won’t have that “oomph” I am looking for if I run it through the DB210. Maybe if I also scraped the $$$ together to get the Ampeg 212 that seems to go hand in hand with the V4B?
    My friend suggested a Mark Bass combo, but I am partial to tube amps for some unknown reason.