1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

My Fender Love Story

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Wallygator, Nov 12, 2013.

1. Wallygator

Wallygator

I am a 43 year old novice bass player (at best) and after many years of just playing in my living room with headphones on, I suddenly find myself in a band (for fun and maybe an occasional show).

For years I never bothered with Fender, I found them boring to look at and dubbed them "old guy" basses. Instead I worked through a number of "cooler looking" basses. BC Rich, Washburn, Jackson and ESP were more my style...

I decided when I knew I was going to be jamming with a band to treat myself to a new bass and started doing research here and abroad. Almost unanimously the Fender P kept getting recommended over and over again. I noticed many of the bands I was seeing live utilized the fender P and even some (high profile) 6 string playing friends suggested them as well. So I took the plunge on a used honey Blonde Classic 50's P.

As for the next few band practices, I cycled through the P, the more expensive ESP, the Washburn and lastly, my Jackson. It was like a lightbulb went off. None of the other basses came close (ok maybe the Jackson held it's own) but the P just sounded right and just as importantly "felt" right as well.

No muss, no fuss...plug it in and turn up the tone and she is always ready to burn. Since then I have added a beater MIM standard and now a beautiful Sunburst/Maple MIA standard to my collection. Nothing else feels quite right to my hands or my ears anymore. I am sure there are "better" bases but for me it's the P...my hunt is over (for now anyway) :bassist:

2. Treadstone71

Treadstone71

Welcome to the "crow is an acquired taste" club.