1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

My fingers move too slow

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by bassmatt4792, Mar 18, 2014.

1. bassmatt4792

bassmatt4792

I've been playing bass for about 6 years or so and I'm pretty much entirely self taught. I did go to about 5 lessons during my last semester in college bit my job got in the way of that. In lessons, my teacher would say to use all 4 fingers obviously and use then in order on the fretboard. This was new to me as I used (and still do out of habit) whatever fingers I felt like, and I usually slide around instead of using 4 and shifting.

Fast for war to now, and I'm trying to learn some Rush, etc. I feel like I have a fast right hand - I can play the Run to the Hills gallops with either 2 or 3 fingers- but I'm having trouble moving my left hand fingers quick enough to play the Spirit of Radio intro runs. Not only am I having trouble moving them that fast, I'm having lots of trouble moving them in time with my right hand doing the plucking. Are there any good tips or exercises that can help?

This also is affecting my interest in learning guitar as well. I see these guys shredding it up and I can't fathom moving that fast.
    Thanks for your help

bm

2. the explode man

the explode man

It's been said before - practice something you want to play fast by first playing it slowly. Increase the speed until you can play it fast. Metronome. Rinse and repeat.

3. joedownunder

joedownunder Supporting Member

My advice is to practice legato. Get a metronome as well

4. jgroh

jgroh Supporting Member

This.

The run in TSoR is pretty quick...it would be very hard to just get it after a time or two at full speed.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. VanillaThundah

VanillaThundah Go Team Sea Slug!! Supporting Member

Media: