My first band is calling it quits, second band stagnant, third wants me in.

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by keiththebassist, Nov 25, 2013.

1. keiththebassist

keiththebassist

Well,

after about six years, my original band is almost ready for our last gig this weekend. This is the band I joined at 21 and is the reason I learned to play bass.

Our vocalist told us he's not really in a great place in his life and needs to get it together and can't dedicate any time to the band. Which I can totally respect. Problem is, this is four original members and replacing him just makes it a different band. I'm a bit bummed, okay, but bummed. I've really grown up with these guys and love 'em. This band: Lots of talent but also lots missing. A lot of self taught guys going semi-pro.

My second band (that I joined about 8 months ago) moves slowly, some recording sessions coming up but a lot of schedules not working, long breaks etc. A very good band, even if I had to spend 15 minutes explaining to my guitar player why he needs to intonate his guitar before recording. All of them about 10 years older than me, nice guys, but some red flags and just not the same brotherhood with them (naturally). This band: really great songwriting and more vocal talent than the first band but crappy personal dynamics between players.

Third band is a recent upstart with three guys who are REALLY GOOD, nice guys, great chops, understand theory, pretty good song-writing as well. I'm not in this band but they tried recruiting me about two months back after watching me play a gig, I declined (3 bands is too much for me). Now that band 1 has announced our self destruction, this band tried again to recruit me (it's nice to be wanted). I jammed with drummer and guitarist, good chemistry, could be fun and actaully push me pretty hard musically.