1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

My first flats set (D'addario vs. DR)

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by eukatheude, Mar 26, 2014.

1. eukatheude

eukatheude

So I have recently bought a Warwick RB streamer, fiver fretless. I installed a set of D'addario rounds but, strangely, the ebony board is getting lots of wear. Much more than the rosewood board of a cheapo defretted Cort I've been banging on for some months.
    Anyhow, rather than epoxying I feel it's better to switch to flats, which I've never tried before. I was thinking either D'addario chromes or DR flats. I've played DR rounds a lot in the past and always liked them a lot. However, also due to pricing, I've been using them on my fretted Spector in the last year and I'm pretty satisfied with them, both tone and feel wise. Durability seems nice too, they've been on for several months and I can't complain.
    So I'm quite undecided on the brand. I know chromes have a good reputation around here, but what do you say about the DR's? Can you comment on the difference between these two? I'd like the tone to be very bright, very mwaish.
    I'm also kinda curious about LaBella.

2. gary m

gary m

Not to complicate your search, but I will anyway...

I'd suggest you include GHS Precision Flats in your search. I've used these on fretted and fretless basses with excellent results. Tone, feel and durability are all far above average, and they're very reasonably priced. Ask others here about GHS flats and you'll get positive responses as well.

3. SturmUndDrang

SturmUndDrang

Some local store had DR flats in stock, so I bought them to try. Old school thumpy sound but a dead E string. I ordered some La Bella 760 FS right after. Dads are going to be brighter initially but could sound nice on a fretless warwick.

4. coronado3