1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

My first tryout for a gig-worthy band

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by swamp_bass, Mar 21, 2014.

1. swamp_bass

swamp_bass I love it when a groove comes together Supporting Member

Last night I tried out for a band that's looking to start gigging this summer. It's my first tryout for a band with serious aspirations beyond jamming in the garage. Singer has mad talent:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S2-T0zI0VIA

They were nice people and were generally positive, but I knew I was outclassed. They're re-arranging songs creatively to make their own unique versions, which really compliment and showcase the singer's abilities.

I've only been playing a year and a half, and I'm not yet able to follow song changes by ear, or to make up creative backfills on the fly. Prior to my tryout, I had gotten a list of the songs they're working on and practiced hard, but when I arrived I found out the songs had been converted to alternate tunings and frequent change-ups from the originals.

It was still a fun experience. As they say: Back to the woodshed!

2. DerTeufel

DerTeufel

Keep at it. I auditioned for the band that I am in after having been playing for 10 months (bass is my first instrument). I was nervous but could follow their changes and was invited back.

3. Stingray5

Stingray5

Good attitude, and always learn from these experiences, it can only make you better.

In your defense, they could have indicate the keys they were using ahead of time, but hey, next time you'll be more prepared :)

4. swamp_bass