My musical situation

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by eukatheude, Mar 6, 2014.

1. eukatheude

eukatheude

First off, I'm not sure this is the right subforum or indeed if this thread actually has a point.

I'm turning 23 in about a month; more or less I've been playing for 10 years now. Wouldn't be a stretch to say that the last one has been pretty much the hardest & more important year of my life, as I've moved out from my parent's house to another city, got a job and since last month i've moved in with my girlfriend in a small apartment.

When I lived back at my parents', I never accomplished much musically: in the first years I played with a metal band made by school friends, we did a handful of gigs but the band broke up after a couple years. I then spent a lot of time in the woodshed, eventually developing some good chops but never really taking the time to study up on theory or even learning to go by ear; just tabs and mechanical memory.

I should mention I'm an autodidact for the most part; I took lessons the first two years but really got into the instrument on the 3rd/4th year.
    Over the last 3-4 years I've begun to really use my ears and be able to learn stuff by ear, think up some basslines etc. and it's been very satisfying. Still no theory though, aside from learning where the notes are on the fretboard.

After I moved here I immediately started working towards getting a decent band: I auditioned for a 70's originals prog band with a CD out and a second one in the works and they took me, and since joining them (while I don't really care much for the music and there's hasn't been money involved yet) I can feel I've improved a lot.