1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

My new bass fell

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Mark Plays Bass, Nov 25, 2012.

1. Mark Plays Bass

Mark Plays Bass Supporting Member

I was at jam session yesterday with a brand new (for me) bass. It's an MTD 535, so it was pretty expensive, even used. It's the best (and most expensive) instrument I've ever had by far.

Anyway, I had to leave to studio for a minute and when I came back my bass had fallen to the floor. Fortunately there was not any major damage. But there is now an "imperfection" on the neck that, while it didn't bother me while I was playing, is bothering me emotionally.

I'm a relative newbie to playing the bass - I haven't gigged much, only four performances so far, and I'm the sort of guy who is very careful with my instruments, so this hurts.

I thought some you with more experience than I have might have something to share about similar experiences you have had.

If this is in the wrong forum, I apologize in advance.

Thanks,
    Mark

2. trevcda

trevcda

Media:
    Albums:
    The first one is the toughest.

There are only three places a bass should be: around your neck, in a stand or in the case. Which one did your bass fall from?

3. David Jayne

David Jayne

Should be in Off Topic, I think.
    Anyway bummer but it's GOING to happen eventually. If you own and gig it enough it will collect lots and lots of small dings, scrapes and chips. And then maybe it'll be worth more. lol...
    Those of us that fly model airplanes have an acute awareness of this issue. I put spend days or weeks into building a brand-new plane to fly, and I know, with absolute certainty, that it will eventually be damaged or destroyed in a crash. It's just the way it is - if you can't crash it, don't fly it...
    : )

4. SirMjac28