1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

My tone is terrible; Plucking/fingering issue

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Derp, Aug 4, 2013.

1. Derp

Derp

I've been playing bass for 3 months now. Some good bass players (Either famous band members or professional level hobbyists(like the ones on youtube/talkbass)) I've heard play so smoothly that the bass line kind of flows like water, has that soft touch kind of feel to it. I can't do it. I sound more like drunk Duff Mckagan or David Ellefson or even Steve Harris (don't attack me TBers, these players are the greatest in my opinion and are the ones who influenced me the most and got me into the bass world). I love that powerful Steve Harris type of feel. But now I'm more into songs like Hysteria or Time is running out which require that soft feel. But I can't play without beating the hell out of the instrument. When I pluck the strings my fingers kind of get stuck and it also kind of affects the timing. Any tips?
  2. nolezmaj

nolezmaj

Practise more :)
  3. fearceol

fearceol

+1.

OP, how else except through constant practice, do you think those bass players you mention, manage to " play so smoothly that the bass line kind of flows like water"?