NAD - Alembic / Crest ProLite

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by hennessybass, Mar 15, 2014.

1. hennessybass

hennessybass Supporting Member

Got the Alembic a while back here on TB, and the Crest came in a few days ago. Still need to get a rack for this new set up. Nobody in Austin seems to have a 3U rack, so looks like I'm getting one on line. Thinking I'm gonna go gator. Need to do some shopping.

I've been using a '77 Fender Bassman 100 as my main rig for a few years now (with a few others in the mix as well). Started looking for something that sounded like my Bassman, but with more clean headroom and something that was also road worthy. Not that the Bassman isn't. It's seen plenty of action, and handles anything I throw at it. But having something in a case is nice for travel gigs. Also just want to have a nice big non tube option.

This rig sounds nice. Just right off the bat. Just clean and loud as you want, but still warm, complex, not sterile, and nothing harsh. The sound is open and even, no honk, no congestion, just big, fat, warm, clean. I'm not going to say it sounds like a tube amp, but I will say it sounds good. Better than some other very nice amps I have played. It nails the fender thing. Of course all IMO.;)

Got a TRS 1/4 to XLR, which I may shorten, and a cool little dual power cable. The power thing may not work out due to the difference in depth of the Alembic and Crest. We'll see when I get a rack.

I'll keep posting up as I get the rack, and will post up about the sound, settings, and a compare to the Bassman.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
  2. dmac1961

dmac1961

Sweet. What cab(s) is that beast gonna push?
  3. ::::BASSIST::::

::::BASSIST:::: Relax... Nothing Is Under Control. Supporting Member

I have the crest prolite 2.0 as well. Really like it. Seems like a loud, solid piece of gear. I am using a gk mb200 as a preamp. It gives me a nice light pre that I like the sound of. Plus I can always use it as a fully integrated amp in a pinch.