1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

NAD/gig report Markbass and Avatar newby

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by armybass, Dec 29, 2013.

1. armybass

armybass Supporting Member

I have been gigging with SWR and GK heads and SWR cabs for a few decades now and have been very slow to move into the Class D and micro rig scene. But alas I have sold off my 810, 610 and 410 rigs and 40 lb heads. My first new amp was an Oragne Terror Bass 500 head and SP212 cab and I love that for my country/southern rock band but wanted a little more modern sound. I have wanted to check out Markbass heads and Avatar cabs for some time and decided this was a perfect opportunity.

SO.... I scored on TB a used F500 MB head and B210 Avatar 8 ohm cab. I set everything on the MB flat....which is not easy of you do not have good eyes as there is not mark on the yellow concentric knobs but I found it. I played my 2012 Ric 4003 and 2012 Fender Sm Standard Jazz.

My gig was a medium sized club where sound can sometimes be a problem depending on the crowd. Both of my basses sounded fantastic in the low end and the amount of well defined bottom coming out of that cab is unreal. I love the MB head set flat and look forward to working more with it. I am completely impressed with what I perceive as a rather transparent tone allowing both of my basses to sound unaltered and full! If the cab were slightly lighter I would be totally in love with this rig but I am very impressed so far.