NAD!!! (New Amgeg Day)

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by JimiLL, Dec 27, 2012.


  1. JimiLL

    JimiLL Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Location:
    Hunt. Co., New Jersey
    Got my first stand alone rackmount pre amp today, as well as my first Ampeg (Jimmy's gonna be so proud!:crying:) the Ampeg SVP-Pro. Found it on craigslist and when I saw the price, i knew I had to have it: $250!

    Called the guy and turns out he bought it new around 2000, used it for 6 months and then Larry Hartke gave him a stack, so this thing went into storage. I believe it has that little time on it, no scratches, all original tubes, and best of all, no noise!

    Now the question... Im have to find a power amp to pair to it...i Know i want one of the Crest power amps when I get some more coin, but Im going cheap at the moment. I do know that the input sensitivity is fairly important for bass guitar, so what is a good sensitivity to start at? Id like a Drivecore XLS amp, but i hear they are a little low on input sens.

    Anyway, thanks guys!
  2. Edword

    Edword

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Location:
    Detroitish
  3. JimiLL

    JimiLL Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Location:
    Hunt. Co., New Jersey
    I will, tomorrow
  4. Diesel Kilgore

    Diesel Kilgore

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Location:
    Modesto, CA
    Amgeg must be a hot new knockoff gear maker. :D I never heard of them before. ;)
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. JimiLL

    JimiLL Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Location:
    Hunt. Co., New Jersey
    Aww hell now i look like a troll!
  7. JimmyM

    JimmyM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    Apopka, FL
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Troll no longer! Yes, I am proud! Quite a good price. Wouldn't have a clue what power amp to pair it with, but Ampeg did used to make an SVT 300 tube power amp (SVT minus the pre). Between the two I think you'd have an SVT 2 Pro.

    Or you could get some class D dealio ;)
  8. JimiLL

    JimiLL Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Location:
    Hunt. Co., New Jersey
    Definitely lookin to go solid state on the power amp side of things. I spotted a Mackie 1400 on craigslist,$200 looks like it will take it
  9. CL400Peavey

    CL400Peavey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Media:
    11
    Albums:
    1
    Location:
    Grand Rapids Michigan
    I would check out the Peavey IPR 1600. It has one of the best sensitivity ratings out there, and you can pick them up new for a good price. More power than most would need, 7 pounds, cheap and readily available...
  10. bassgiant15

    bassgiant15

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Spector Basses
    I pair mine with a crown xls1000. It sounds great to my ears and its plenty loud.

    Attached Files:

  11. georgestrings

    georgestrings Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005

    +1...


    - georgestrings
  12. cableguy

    cableguy

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    I use a Carvin HD1500 for mine. Between the pre/amp and SKB case it come in at around 20lbs. Not bad for 1500W and some Ampeg tubey goodness.
  13. username1

    username1 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    alberta canada
    I loved the svp pro i used to have. One thing to remember when changing tubes is not to use a new tungsol in the far right position when looking at it from the front. That tube position is very sensative to hum and the tungsols i tried made horrible hum in that position but worked well in all other positions. One tube i settled on for that position was an eh12ax7. It worked well and was very quiet hum wise. I dont know why that tube position is so sensative to hum. Just something that is good to know if you have an svp pro.
  14. pickles

    pickles Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2000
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    Great preamp and not finnikey about power amps at all. Match the powe amp to your cabs, or just plug the ampeg into the effects return of a head.
  15. JimiLL

    JimiLL Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Location:
    Hunt. Co., New Jersey
    I currently have a Genz GBE 1200 that Ill be keeping, and id like to make two seperate heads out of everything.

    Are the peavey IPR amps bridgeable?
  16. JimiLL

    JimiLL Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Location:
    Hunt. Co., New Jersey
    Nevermind I see that they are not. I was looking to get something with some substantial wattage, like 1500 watts. Whats a pre/power setup without ridiculous amounts of wattage?
  17. JimiLL

    JimiLL Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Location:
    Hunt. Co., New Jersey

Share This Page