Nashville, TN Suggestion?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by clokwise, Feb 11, 2014.

1. clokwise

clokwise

Hi!
    I know I feel like I should have 1,000 connections at my fingertips but I am new to the upright world. Anyone have any suggestions of some places to go check out a few decent prices uprights in Nashville, TN? Theres always craigslist but I'd prefer to visit a shop where they know their stuff first. I currently play on an EUB, which I know is different and thats another argument for another day. But I'd love to, when money allows, to transition to a real upright.
    Thanks

2. KUNGfuSHERIFF

KUNGfuSHERIFF

Williams Fine Violins is well spoken of, and George Gruhn has a few interesting pieces in stock.

3. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Media:
    Albums:
    Disclosures:
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
  4. clokwise

clokwise

Thanks guys! I had saw Williams in a Google search and wanted to check it out. I've been in Gruhn's several times before mostly just to drool on stuff before they make me leave. Incredible shop. Can't afford a thing in there! But great place.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. scotch

scotch Will play bass for fish tacos. Plus cash. Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Please see Profile for Endorsement disclosures
    Dustin Williams at Williams Fine Violins! That's the place to start.

7. Bill Baldock

Bill Baldock

Disclosures:
    Baldock String Repair - Vintage Whimsy Antiques
    Carter Vintage Guitars currently has a couple uprights. They are also great people to deal with. http://cartervintage.com/

8. jazzbill

jazzbill

9. jolok

jolok

I bought a decent ply from Nashville Violins, and, while I haven't had any work done on the bass there, I was very happy with their service and I really like the bass -- well setup and very playable for a noob :)

10. Jeremy Darrow

Jeremy Darrow

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Genz-Benz Amplifiers