1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

NBD!: Fender USA Dimension V HH Deluxe!!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by austentaciousC, Sep 23, 2013.

1. austentaciousC

austentaciousC

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/DBassVADHHC

REVIEW:

Alright, ill try to be as descriptive as possible here. I've owned over 70 basses over the years, and i've been a full-time musician since 2005, so hopefully my background tells you that my ears are pretty good, and my hands have experienced enough different axes to warrant an adequate opinion.

BASICS: Take a 2010 or newer american deluxe jazz bass, drop EBMM style pickups in it and give it an 18v super-high ouput preamp in it, make it a one piece slab ash body and there you have it. Im not sure why nobody has made the connection, but this bass is very "Roscoe Beck"-ish.

If i were to compare it to a Stingray, it sounds a bit more tame, the fretwork allows for lower action without buzz, the neck has a wider, flatter compound radius and the spacing is a bit wider at 18mm for the 5 string. It feels EXACTLY like my 2012 US deluxe jazz V, setup is the same with the pickups lower as the magnets are very large on this one. Does P-bass, stingray and a VERY mid heavy bridge burp. The middle position does jazz bass all day, making this more versatile than a J with all the familiar parts. Very balanced output across the spectrum, no major EQ needed here.