NBD - Ibanez Soundgear

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Sundogue, Feb 4, 2014.

1. Sundogue

Sundogue

I just picked up this Ibanez SR400QM 4 string bass for free from a friend (although I'm going to trade him some artwork just to be fair to him even though he just told me to keep it). I've been playing for over 35 years and have played every kind of bass made with the exception of high end boutique custom jobs.

My original thread is posted here (which was mainly about getting more info on this model)...

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f8/ibanez-sr400qm-1051735/

Here's a pic online...mine looks exactly like this but I'll get my own pics soon...

[​IMG]

Upon further review...

There isn't anything to not like about this bass.

Bridge is solid and easily adjustable with quick change slots. Tuners are solid and hold very well.

Body is really beautiful. I never thought I'd like blue/purple, but because it is translucent I can see the quilted maple on front and the mahogany on the back. The color is subtle. In certain light it looks more purple or more blue, depending. Beautiful urethane finish that is super mirror smooth. Matching headstock. I also never really dug Soundgear/Spector/Schechter body styles, but it's kind of growing on me. Could be the gorgeous wood or maybe the ergonomics.

Neck is two full octaves, very slim and fast playing. Along with the lower horn of the body all frets are easily accessed. 5 ply Maple/Rosewood with a nice rosewood fingerboard. Very nice tight neck pocket. With just a tad bit of fret tapering above the 12th fret I should be able to get the strings super low. Action is already very low with absolutely no buzz anywhere. Every note on all strings all up and down neck are very clear and full. I'll need to file the edges of the frets on the neck just a bit. They stick out very slightly but I notice it.