Neck influence in overall tone of bass guitar??

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by soaf, Dec 10, 2013.

1. soaf

soaf

First off, I am a player not a luthier. I have posted another thread asking opinions on how much the neck and body influence the overall sound and most say hardly at all. They claim that the player, the pickups (type, placement), strings and electronics are the most important factors. What is your opinion on this? Is the neck not one of the most influential ingredients in the overall tone?
  2. Ric5

Ric5 Supporting Member

Neck influence in overall tone of bass guitar??

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yep ... I swap out necks on my Fender-style basses ... I go Maple to Rosewood to Fretless and get a different tone with each.
  3. Hopkins

Hopkins Supporting Member

My opinions are the same as I have expressed the first time you asked this question. If wood has any effect at all is arguable, but it is definitely not near the contributing factor to the over all sound of a guitar/bass as the pickups and their location, and strings.

So does the neck influence the tone? Yes slightly, to be more specific, the fingerboard does have a slight influence on the tone, but its not one of the most influential ingredients. Sorry if this isn't the answer you were looking for.
  4. T-Bird

T-Bird

Hi.

Everything contributes to the tone.

IMO the most significant piece of the puzzle is the player.
    The rest are in no particular order since the combinations are practically unlimited and most, if not all, affect the amount that the others contribute.
    For example: uneven, bad strings won't sound excellent, no matter what the rest of the instrument is made of.

IMO/IME no.

I'm known of being a circular reasoner, but if the neck really had a huge predictable impact on tone, we'd have more than the three basic groups we have now to choose from.
    The main groups IMO being: