1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is still pending approval by Apple. If you haven't yet, try using your mobile browser - TalkBass is responsive to any screen size.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Neck Stability

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by cv115505, Jan 15, 2014.

1. cv115505

cv115505 Supporting Member

Ok, I am new to all of this and I have a pretty fundamental (4 syllable word for stupid) question.

What contributes more to neck stability... multi-laminate construction, or stiffening rods? Is there a real difference?
    I know companies that typically build Fender-esque designs typically employ either graphite or steel stiffening rods, while other companies use 5-piece multilaminate construction or just use quarter-sawn necks... So what really works, and what is just an advertising gimmick?
  2. HaMMerHeD

HaMMerHeD

Lamination works and stiffening rods work.

Quartered wood is a bit...controversial. Some people say it's stronger, some people say it's weaker, and some people say it's about the same as flatsawn lumber. I don't know myself. I've never used quartersawn wood for a neck. I also haven't had any strength or stiffness problems.

I prefer multi-laminate construction with stiffening rods, if the build budget supports the time and parts for it. If not, I'll go with one or the other, depending on...reasons.
  3. cv115505