Neck Stability

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by cv115505, Jan 15, 2014.

1. cv115505

cv115505 Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Lakland Basses | Hanson Guitars | Augustas Guitars | Paul & Mills Amplification
    Ok, I am new to all of this (building my own basses) and I have a pretty fundamental (4 syllable word for stupid) question.

What contributes more to neck stability... multi-laminate construction, or stiffening rods? Is there a real difference?
    I know companies that typically build Fender-esque designs typically employ either graphite or steel stiffening rods, while other companies use 5-piece multilaminate construction or just use quarter-sawn necks... So what really works, and what is just an advertising gimmick?

2. M.R. Ogle

M.R. Ogle Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Backstage Guitar Lab owner
    I'm also curious to see what the opinions are.

I've owned multi-laminates and necks with extra stiffening rods, and (unfortunately) I've had to occasionally adjust them all about the same. Some stable, some wonky of each type.

Except for this one G&L neck, a "bi-cut" maple one that hasn't moved in about 19 years. And I don't even know if they do that anymore.

Might also post this in the "Luthier's Forum" on here.

3. cv115505

cv115505 Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Lakland Basses | Hanson Guitars | Augustas Guitars | Paul & Mills Amplification
    My G&L has a quartersawn neck and I definitely already posted it in the Luthier's Corner section haha

4. lpdeluxe

lpdeluxe Still rockin' Supporting Member