1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Need advice on a multi-purpose amp for a beginner

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by salientdigital, Jan 15, 2014.

1. salientdigital

salientdigital

What's up everyone. I have learned so very much from this awesome forum.

I'm a complete noob when it comes to bass amp heads. I am a recording artist mainly playing piano/synths for 20 years and finally broke down and bought a bass guitar. It's kind of a crappy one, but I figure I can learn on it. Everything I've learned about bass tech has been from this forum and studying the product pages after searching model numbers of eBay auctions of used gear.

As a synth player I know there's no contest between "real analog" synths such as Moog vs cheap digital knockoffs. So my first thought was that I should only consider a real tube amp, but I'm confused about bass amp heads that only have a speaker out. It'd be nice to have an effects loop for the future.

I'd like to buy exactly one bass amp head in my life, and I want to use it to record with first, but possibly gig with later. Cost isn't so much the issue, just getting something that I can grow into. Some of the ones I looked at:

Ampeg PortaBass 250
    Hartke Systems 3500
    Gallien Kreuger MB200
    Gallien Kreuger Backline 350
    Ampeg Micro VR
    Ampeg SVT 400
    Ampeg PF500
    Bugera BVP5500

Any advice you can give on these or any other models would be very appreciated!

2. Dave W

Dave W Previously bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

What are you planning on using for a cab?
    Why do you want an effects loop? Unless you're running rack gear they're essentially pointless.
    What type of sound are you going after?
    What bass are you using? P? J? Something else?

3. salientdigital

salientdigital

Thanks BassGod.