1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Need advice on buying a bass amp head and cab

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by JanBethany, Dec 17, 2012.

1. JanBethany

JanBethany

Hi, my name is Jan and I'm new here. I found this site while searching for amp reviews and was wondering if I could get some advice from here.

I don't have much knowledge and experience when it comes to amp heads and cab since i've only had a practice bass combo amp ever since I started playing. Now I'm considering to upgrade since I'll be playing in a venue that holds around 500 people.

I only have at most $1000 as my budget to buy both amp head and cab.

I'm open to your suggestions and opinions about what's the best amp head and cab combination i could buy with this budget considering the venue i'm playing at.

Your suggestions would be much appreciated.

Cheers!

2. Downunderwonder

Downunderwonder

1K buys a whole lot of used bass rig. Choose wisely.

Style of music counts for a lot.

How are your bandmates equipped? 100w tube amps and dual 4x12 for each guitard is a different prospect to modelling guitar amps or small wattage tubes and single 12 per guitarist.

Do you expect house PA support in that 500 person venue? What about mere mortal bar gigs? Does the band aspire to own a PA?

3. JanBethany

JanBethany

Thanks for your reply downunderwonder!

I haven't really met with the band yet coz i was only invited to play bass for this one concert night. But i do want to invest in an amp that i can use in future Gigs.

The rhythm guitarist who's doing the main vocals as well told me that he won't be using an amp but instead use a DI box to connect to a 300 watt monitor speaker. He did mention too that there will be a PA system on the venue.

Cheers!

4. CL400Peavey

CL400Peavey Supporting Member

Media: