Need advice-want thumpy old school sound

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by josiah goldfish, Nov 8, 2012.

1. josiah goldfish

josiah goldfish

Hey guys,
    I did several searches, and I couldn't find a satisfying answer. I was listening to some old jazz (well, 50s or 60s) and I decided that I want that type of sound. Oscar pettiford's tone really stands out to me as the sound I'm looking for, but I'd like a little bit of buzz on the G strings and to a lesser extent the D string. Like a fretless has mwah, I want mwah on the double bass on the higher strings, but I want a nice round thump out of all the strings. I currently play D'Addario helicores, and I love them but they're just a little bright and thin for me. I know a guy who'll let me borrow some sets of strings so I could play a mixed set as well.

I'm a complete newb to strings so any help would be very gratefully recieved, and if this topic has been covered before please point me in the right direction.

Cheers
    Joe

Oh, and I don't like guts, too expensive and difficult to maintain.
  2. josiah goldfish

josiah goldfish

Also, I play pizz almost exclusively. I noticed the 'string suggestion' thread but it's not quite what I'm looking for.

This is the sound I'm looking for, but preferably a bit more buzzy (mwah)

3. marco zomer

marco zomer

Hello,

If you want this sound: first choice is gut, second choice is gut, and third choice is gut.
    But if you want a good alternative i would say: Velvet.
    Velvet Anima for a more modern sound and if you want to use your bow. Velvet Garbo for that old school sound and if you most play pizz.

I had a set of Animas on my bass before moving to gut (Eudoxa and Chorda G now). I realy liked the sound the first time i played the bass strung with the Animas. My first reaction: yes this is the old school sound i have in my head.
    If you don't want to go all the way (gut) Velvet is a good choice. You sure will like the Velvet strings.