Need amp suggestions for 60's rock

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by AbstractLunatic, Jan 17, 2014.

1. AbstractLunatic

AbstractLunatic

Hey all. I'm new to bass guitar but have been playing 6-string forever. I just got a used AmStd Jazz Bass from a forum member tonight and don't have an amp yet. Stuff I like includes early Zeppelin and Sabbath, Beatles, Doors, Neil Young. Also LOVE Rush! A big part of my life was seeing California Grateful Dead shows(162 in all). And I'm a big fan of STP and so called "stoner rockers" QOTSA and also Fu Manchu.

I was thinking a 4x10 that's not too heavy and a head that is very reliable and good quality.

I'd like to become proficient and join/form a cover band with any song fair game if the band members like it and it gets the ladies dancing.

I have $750 to spend. School me please.
  2. JellinWellen

JellinWellen

Hartke AK410 and a Hartke LH500. The LH500 you should be able to easily find used for around 200-250. The hartke ak410's are around 450-500 new.
  3. mrb327

mrb327 Just say No to Tort Supporting Member

I can tell u are excited about funkyebk`s old bass!

Couple things to consider, but your budget will guide part of this: combo or head and cab
    Also, size and wattage.

I like 15s. You are welcome to come over and test mine, I'm in Arvada.
  4. AbstractLunatic

AbstractLunatic

Haha! Yeah, it's right here in my lap. I've been watching the Scott Devine right hand technique lesson over and over tonight but it's a little fast for "this guy". I'm good with a pick but I don't have one within arms reach right now just to keep focused on finger practice. I can tell my right hand fingers are going to be sore for weeks until I develop calluses. But... back to amps.

I'm also in Arvada off 80th and Kip and work at 120th and I-25. I'd love to get together for playing and socializing.