Need help choosing a 5 string (700-800 dollar range)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SatansFather, Oct 10, 2013.

1. SatansFather

SatansFather

I should start by saying I'm left handed. Basically this is my first bass, but I've been playing guitar for 11 years. I want a 5 string because I main a 7 string guitar, so I will need the low B for recording and such.

I want something that will be good for slap, progressive, blues, Primus, death metal, etc. Currently I'm torn between an Ibanez SR505 and a Schecter Stiletto Studio 5. My guitar is a Carvin DC727 and want a "bass equivalent" in terms of versatility and comfort (without spending trillions of dollars on an Icon). Any suggestions welcome.
  2. Ninjabot

Ninjabot

Either is a good way to go. I have the schecter but in 6 string and it is awesome.
  3. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Gold Supporting Member

Get another Carvin. You will get the most bang for your buck and have a great B string to boot. If a great B is on your requirements you might as well stop looking at the SR505, it leaves a lot to be desired in my book. I cannot speak on the Schecter as my dealer went tits up years ago so I have not seen one in ages.
  4. BioWeapon

BioWeapon

The floppyness or performance of a low B string is not in the construction of the bass, but in the construction of the string. Higher gauge B= more tension and less flop generally.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. SatansFather

SatansFather

I'd get another Carvin for sure if it were in my budget. I like the schecter because it has a neck through and jumbo frets, but a lot of people say the ibanez has more versatility and feels better.
  7. Sijjvra

Sijjvra

Not so sure about that... I've had some 5 string basses that had a low B that sounded like mud no matter what type of string I put on them, an SR305 was one of them. Though I did used to have an SR405 back in the late 90s that sounded great.