1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Need help choosing a DI for bass guitar (budget minded...)

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by bassmeknik, Apr 13, 2014.

1. bassmeknik

bassmeknik

So, my praise band welcomed a new member this week. Yay! This also means however that I had to surrender the passive DI box that I had been borrowing for the last 5 years... :bag:

So I need a new DI box for my bass guitar. I play a wide range of styles from blues to Christian Contemporary, with a lot of classic rock and modern alternative rock, and some modern country. I own a club sized PA so I have PA support every gig and use a smallish stage rig for most of these gigs. The church has several Whirlwind Director DI's one of which has been my primary DI (until today...).

I also have a DIY DI box (haven't been using...) made for me by a local amp wizard back in the 70's (anyone remember fast Eddie from Detroit's east side a few decades ago?) that uses a Peerless Electrical Products manufactured Altec Lansing line transformer model 15095. Here is the only link to info on it I have found to date: http://pdf.textfiles.com/manuals/STARINMANUALS/Bosch - EV/Archive/Altec/15335A, 15356A, 15095A.pdf

My question, for those who may have experience with my Peerless/Altec Lansing transformer (DIY DI box), is How does that line transformer compare to a basic passive DI made today (in the $50 to $100 dollar range) can I get anything better than that? Or is my old Peerless/Altec transformer equipt DI decent?

If the Peerless/Altec transformer is NG then what is recommended for a passive DI for bass on the cheap?

2. bassmeknik

bassmeknik

Bump. What's your favorite cheap passive DI box?

3. Matt B

Matt B