1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Need help finding a bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Premoose, Nov 29, 2013.

1. Premoose

Premoose

Hey dudes. I haven't been here in many years. Not since I got my very first bass, a Squier P-bass. Forgot my account info so I had to make a new one :( Anyways I was wondering if someone could help me out. I'm a pretty big noob when it comes to the bass. I never got the motivation to get past the beginning stages of learning the bass. You know, the stage when you suck. I'm looking to buy a new bass because my old cheap P-bass is super messed up. Not even worth fixing. After a bit of research I decided I want a new bass with specific qualities. Can anyone recommend good quality basses with the following specifications:

1. 5-string with low B
    2. 35"
    3. 3-band EQ
    4. active pickups (it seems to be pretty standard, but I want 2 pickups with a blend control also)
    5. no more than $800, $500ish would be best
    6. no animal parts if possible, like mother of pearl inlays and stuff like that

I understand some of this is overkill, but I want to get used to a 5-string and I want the flexibility of a 3-band EQ for later down the road. I'm going to be stuck with this bass for a long time.
  2. extreme

extreme