Need help getting back in the grove

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by CanadianEh, Feb 2, 2014.

1. CanadianEh

CanadianEh

First off mods, if this isnt the right place on the forum please move it.

I started playing the bass about 3 years ago or so and for the first two years really loved it, but as I started getting into the scales, keys, and time signatures and what not I started getting stressed about it. I had a friend teaching me some scales and although it was helpful it really seemed to of killed my creativity in the worst of ways. A lot of riffs I wrote before knowing scales just did not sound proper at all and it really frustrated me to know that what I thought sounded good was really bad to the educated musician.

The past year I might of picked up my bass maybe once every two weeks, which really has been bugging me. My time schedule has been real rubbish and I've never had much time to practice. But for the next few months I will have mornings to myself which kinda opens my time to commit to bass. I really want to get back into the grove and reclaim the enthusiasm I had when I first started supporting the low end. I never learned how to tap, slap, or anything crazy and don't know where to start, with my current financial situation being what it is, I don't think I could fund lessons while keeping up with bills, it would take me out of my comfort zone.

If anyone has any references for bass scales books, videos on anything related to technique, etc I would be more then willing to check them out. I just need to set off on a proper foot. I like making music and have never really jammed with any other musicians other then my one friend so this whole thing on key and time signatures is really a mental headache :help: