Need Help/Neck Pick-Up/Gibson SG Standard

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by SVT_COBRA_03, Jun 26, 2013.

1. SVT_COBRA_03

SVT_COBRA_03

Hello,

I happen to be one of the biggest old school AC/DC fans on the planet. Always loved the look of the SG. I am also fairly new to playing the bass.

I was at Guitar Center couple months ago. At the time, the only bass I had played was my cheap-o Dean that had 24 frets. It always felt like it was 10 foot long. While at GC, I picked up a Gibson SG Bass. It was love at first feel. I only farted with it for a few minutes but could tell it felt more comfortable to play. Shorter, more like a guitar.

So, a couple weeks later, I broke down and bought one.
    Once it arrived, I was blown away by the look and feel of it. But the sound? Well, this is where I may need a little help. And please forgive me as explaining this as a noob may be a little tricky for me.

At first I thought the knobs were wired backwards. The middle knob (bridge, mini humbucker pick-up) has a very low tone/pitch, real deep and beefy like how I think a bass should sound. The neck (full sized humbucker) was real tinney/twangy. My guitar shop guy confirmed that middle knob does control the bridge, front knob is neck, and rear is tone. And as a bassist, he also wasn't impressed with the neck pick-up.

My Dean is just like this, but completely 180. The neck sounds deep and beefy and bridge is the one that is tinney. Or higher pitched. I hope this is making sense to some of you more experienced guys...

So, my question. I realize that I am a TOTAL bass playing noob. But I got ears that work. And I can tell that I am not all too impressed with the sound of the neck pick-up either.