1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

    We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Need help! Svt4pro

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Ampegjunky84, Nov 24, 2012.


  1. Ampegjunky84

    Ampegjunky84

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    I am running an ampeg 810av and GK 410neo (8ohm) off of an ampeg svt4pro. Is that too much for the head? ImageUploadedByTapatalk1353799711.058773.jpg
     
  2. Ampegjunky84

    Ampegjunky84

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    I'm running the 810 stereo.
     
  3. Ampegjunky84

    Ampegjunky84

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    But do ohms reduce? Since the 810 is running as 2-4x10 400w 8ohm and the gk is and 1- 4x10 800w 8ohm...does that mean 8+8+8=2.66ohm at 1600w? Not arguing, just trying to understand! Don't want to overload the amp.
     
  4. VeganThump

    VeganThump

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    South Jersey
    maybe im wrong but i thought that the svt4 could handle 2 ohms.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Kmonk

    Kmonk

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Location:
    South Shore, Massachusetts
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Fender, Spector, Ampeg, Curt Mangan Strings
    When running the 810AV in stereo, they rate it at 2X8 ohms which would be a 4 ohm load. Your Neo should also be 4 ohms. This would give you a 2 ohm load. According to Ampeg's website, the 4Pro can run at 2 ohms.
     
  7. B-string

    B-string Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    An amp that is 2 ohm stable will be very happy with a 2.667 ohm load.
     
  8. Ampegjunky84

    Ampegjunky84

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    I seriously appreciate it. Now on the other end of things. Reducing the ohms decreasing the power output. So this amp is 1600w mono at 4 ohms but 600x2 stereo at 2ohms. Since I'm running 600 watts x2 to 2-800w cabs, will I damage the speakers due to lack of power? Sorry I'm so ignorant with all this.
     
  9. B-string

    B-string Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    No the speakers can be damaged by too much power. The power in dual mono is less due to the non-bridged operation. But in bridged mode the load can't go as low (not less than 4 ohm) as in dual mono (2 ohms). The lower the number in ohms the less impedance there is to flow (an the heavier the load placed on the amps output).
     
  10. floridagatorfan

    floridagatorfan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Location:
    Athens Alabama
    you should be good to go bro
     
  11. kurt1420

    kurt1420

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    I run a similar setup.

    ForumRunner_20121124_223713.png
     
  12. kurt1420

    kurt1420

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    In dual mono that's 4 ohms a side.
     
  13. Gearhead17

    Gearhead17 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, IL
    If you are running the 4 PRO with Power amp A powering one cab and Power Amp B running the other cab, you are perfectly fine. If you are running them on the same power amp, no problem there. If you are mono bridging the cabs, you could run into some problems since the 410 will probably give up before the 810 ever does.

    Each Power Amp on the 4 PRO can run a 8, 4, and a 2 ohm load with no issues. Mono Bridging for only 8 ohm and 4 ohm loads.
     

Share This Page