Need Help with Cmaj scale exercise

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Pfautz, Jan 17, 2014.

1. Pfautz

Pfautz

First off, all advise and criticism is welcome! I just got my first bass to learn to play on Christmas, (I have some music background in other instruments.. nothing above intermediate at best, which is even pushing it) I figure one of the most useful things for me to be able to do is to learn the fret board and I figure a good way to do that is to learn all of the Cmaj shapes. My problem is I am learning from multiple books and I am getting some conflicting things. I own four books that I am using. Hal Leonards Bass Method, Bass Guitar for Dummies(And its seperate exercise book), and The Bass Grimoire (by Adam Kadmon). I am mainly looking at both Bass Guitar for Dummies and The Bass Grimoire to learn scales. The issue is these books use different fingerings for each of the shapes. I know both shapes are correct as far as notes go obviously, but is one better to learn than the other? I like the idea of learning all of the shapes from The Bass Grimoire because it lays all of the shapes nicely on one page

An example would be in the Bass Grimoire the First position of Cmaj starting on the E string would be E string C, D, E - A string F, G, A - D string B, C, D - G string E, F, G

The Dummies book the position would be playing E string C, D - A String E, F, G - D String A, B, C - G String D, E, F

I am assuming I am not seeing something that is a simple answer to this, but for some reason its bothering me, BUT if one of these is better to go by than the other, please let me know. I guess this is the issue with going with multiple books and learning on your own and not an instructor. All help is appreciated! Thank you!

2. BeastSternecker

BeastSternecker