1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Need help with first bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by WookieeDck, Dec 30, 2013.

1. WookieeDck

WookieeDck

Hello everyone I'm currently a drummer but lately I have found myself drawn towards bass. I'd like to start playing and understanding the role of a bass player better but with all the options I'm a bit lost. I've been looking around for a good starter bass in the $250-$400 range and I found these if any of you have experience with one or all of these your input would be greatly appreciated.

Intended use: I just want to get started most of what I will be playing with friends will be more along the line of metal/hardcore but want something suited for jazz/funk as well since that is more of the route I'd like to go as a bass player.

What I have found:
    [​IMG]

Spector Performer Electric Bass Guitar
    http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass/spector-performer-electric-bass-guitar

$400
    Features
    Body

NS-bass™ shape
    Basswood body construction
    High gloss finish

Neck

1-piece rock maple neck construction
    Rosewood fingerboard:
    24 frets
    34" scale length
    16" radius
    Pearl dot neck inlays

Hardware

Color: black
    Spector® performer bridge

Electronics

Passive tone circuit
    Bridge pickup: EMG SSD™
    Neck pickups: EMG SSD™

[​IMG]

Ibanez ATK200 Electric Bass Guitar
    http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass/ibanez-atk200-electric-bass-guitar

$400
    Features

Ash body
    ATK4 3-piece bolt-on maple neck
    Rosewood fretboard with pearl dot inlays
    Medium frets
    34" scale
    ATK4 chromed bridge
    CAP double humbucker with 3-position switch
    ATK N2 onboard EQ
    Through-body stringing
    Chrome hardware

[​IMG]

$270
    Features

Bolt-on construction
    34" scale
    Basswood body