Need Help with Upgrading Squire Affinity PJ

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Pfautz, Jan 7, 2014.

1. Pfautz

Pfautz

Hi all,

I am a fairly new bassist and my Squire Affinity PJ is my first bass. I really like it a lot, but I am looking to improve the sound some without dropping the money just yet on a higher end bass. I really like the sound of the Fender American Precision Deluxe so I am thinking of upgrading to the exact pickups that are on that bass. I have found both of the links listed below to purchase these. All opinions/pointers are welcome, I am new at this. My questions are: I can only find the Fender N3 neck pickup sold separately without buying the two pack of bridge/neck, will this work? If not, where can I get the N3 Bridge Pickup sold separately? Also, I am looking at upgrading pots, any suggestions on pots that won't require much extra modification to the guitar itself? Finally, with doing this upgrade are there any other things I should upgrade at this point that will compliment what I am upgrading already? Thank you all very much for your time and input.

The pickups I am looking at purchasing:

P Bass Pups
    http://haightashburymusic.com/fende...9719049.html?gclid=CJr_063f7LsCFahj7AodDioADw

Jazz (Neck)
    http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/099-3117-002
  2. therhodeo

therhodeo

Personally I would save the money up for another bass. If you just got up slightly to the $500 price range you can get some really nice instruments. Especially if you go used. I've got an MTD Kingston Artist, a quirky looking Schecter Stargazer 5, a Fender Deluxe Active Jazz and had an Ibanez BTB675 and they all came used for $350 or less.
  3. Mushroo

Mushroo

Curious to know if there are specific problems/deficiencies with the sound of your bass? If you tell us what you feel is broken/lacking, then we can give you fantastic and targeted advice. :)