Need Help..

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Xoikimo, Jan 15, 2013.

1. Xoikimo

Xoikimo

Hey guys,

I've been playing bass guitar for coming on 6 years, no lessons and worked my way up to Grade 8. (if grade matters to you guys) I'd say I'm fairly experienced and just starting to move into session work. I just have a few questions because I need help.

1) What do I need or to do to become more recognised and be a good session bass player?

2) I'm bored of playing the same songs over and over. I seem to struggle to find decent music with decent bass lines in them. If you guys have any suggestions for me to learn?

3) My sight reading isn't very strong at all. (music notation, not TAB) Is this what is holding me back from key areas of being a successful musician?

Putting it all bluntly, I feel stuck.

Anyways, hope you guys can help, hence why I came to this forum, looking for advice. Thanks. Feel free to ask questions.

James
  2. angryclown5

angryclown5

3. lfmn16

lfmn16 Supporting Member

There are plenty of good threads on this. I would recommend starting with the search engine. 2nd, quit learning songs and start learning the bass, you'll never be bored. 3rd, if you KNOW you have a weakness then work on it. I've never been a professional session musician, but from reading threads on TB, I know that if you want to be a successful session player, you had better be a killer reader. Try to find someone who is successful, offer to buy them lunch and find out how they got started.

Finally, set goals. It's easier to keep motivated if you set short, mid and long term goals for yourself.

Good Luck. You are asking the right questions. I'm sure that people much more knowledgable than me will offer good advice.
  4. Fergie Fulton

Fergie Fulton