Need opinions!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Zalech13, Feb 18, 2014.

1. Zalech13

Zalech13

Hi, I'm a drummer/guitarist who dabbles in bass and is looking to actually buy a bass and get a little more serious about learning it. I've been researching/shopping around and found what I think might be a great deal, but I wanted to get some opinions from seasoned bass veterans because I'm not sure.

The bass I'm looking to buy is a used one that is for sale at a local music store near me. It's a Fender Deluxe Active Jazz Bass and includes a hard shell case. They're asking $450 for it. I first saw it online and thought "Wow, that sounds like a steal!". So I went to the music store and tried it out... it plays just fine and looks to be in good shape, EXCEPT that when I looked at the back I noticed it has two rather prominent cracks in the finish, one on either side of where the neck meets the body of the bass. One of the cracks is about 8 inches long and spider webs out a bit, and the other is about 3 inches long. This made me pause as I don't know a ton about guitar finishes and just how serious that damage is to the quality of the instrument. I wouldn't expect it to affect how it plays/sounds, and I'm pretty sure it's just cracks in the finish and nothing structural. I'm willing to live with those cracks, but I'm just hesitant to spend that much money on something I know is damaged unless I know for sure that it's worth it. So, with that information in mind, I was hoping y'all could give your opinions to the following questions:

1. What's the general opinion on Fender Deluxe Active J-bass? Good? Bad? Indifferent?
    2. Do you think that the deal they are offering for this bass is a good one, or am i getting taken for a ride? If it weren't for those cracks I'm pretty sure the answer would be yes, but with them I'm just not sure.