Needing help with country

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by RichardCranium, Dec 28, 2012.

1. RichardCranium

RichardCranium Supporting Member

I got a new road gig a few weeks ago and it's going ok so far however it's mainly a country band and I have little to no background playing country. I'm struggling with getting the feel down with the older 1-5 stuff. I'm mostly a rock/pop/top 40 type and as Austin Powers would say it's just not my bag.

I do need to get it down though I don't want to lose this gig but I dunno of it's just a mental block or it just more laid back than I'm used to.

Any suggestions I'm sort of at a loss I can get the parts down but it's too stiff and no bounce to it. I can tell the band is losing patience too.

2. phmike

phmike

Listen, listen, listen to music in the style you are playing and then hit the woodshed.
    You got a job in a band playing music you don't know - I should be so lucky . . . .

3. RichardCranium

I guess the point I'm trying to make is the drummer plays a lot of syncopated accents and they want it to be funky. I can make Brick House funky just not sure how to make George Strait funky.

4. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

There is all kinds of Country. New Country and Old Country. New Country is like Pop and Rock. Old Country is all major key and mostly I IV V dirt simple three chord songs. http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x8q0io_beginner-country-bass-guitar-introd_music The first 1:30 of the video will give you what you need to play Country bass.

Ole classic Country bands will be using fake chord sheet music and following the chord progression playing a root-five with chromatic runs to the next chord. Much more than that will get you fish eyes from the guys.