New Active Preamp

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by cgtygzl, Dec 18, 2013.


  1. cgtygzl

    cgtygzl

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    I just bought an active pre-amp which contains bass-mid-trebb-vol-tone pots, active-passive switch and mid on/off switch. I can't decide which guitar of mine I should set it up.I have an Ibanez EDB 555 Fretless and Yamaha BBN4II (ebony fretboard). ( or in a specific question: Yamaha is a bit mid charactered, with this pre-amp can I handle with mid's?) [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. BFunk

    BFunk Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Location:
    Rhode Island , USA
    Uh, it would probably help if you told us what preamp it is. It is a bit like asking 'What car will this engine fit in, a VW Beetle or a Chevy pickup?' without knowing what engine it is.
     
  3. cgtygzl

    cgtygzl

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    It's a handmade preamp, don't have brand or smth.
     
  4. UncleFluffy

    UncleFluffy Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Location:
    California
    Disclosures:
    Head Tinkerer, The Flufflab
    It'll be very hard to figure out what the preamp sounds like if it's not a known type.

    Could you post a photo of the board? Someone might have seen something similar. That way we could at least make an informed guess.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. BFunk

    BFunk Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Location:
    Rhode Island , USA
    I think your only solution is to try it and find out. :)
     
  7. cgtygzl

    cgtygzl

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    added the photos.

    @BFunk I agree, thanks for helps :)
     
  8. UncleFluffy

    UncleFluffy Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Location:
    California
    Disclosures:
    Head Tinkerer, The Flufflab
    ick!

    No idea (though someone else might have). Hope you didn't pay too much, though.
     
  9. cgtygzl

    cgtygzl

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    It's about $50 (in my country not much for a pre-amp) I'll try on the guitar, thanks a lot everyone!
     
  10. LightGroove

    LightGroove

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Location:
    Happy Bottom, VA
    This was my initial thought as well. If my screen is correct there are a number of BAD solder joints throughout. Id have to recommend you resolder those before trying to install it. This is a nightmare waiting to happen in all honesty.
     
  11. cgtygzl

    cgtygzl

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    @LightGroove Thank you, I got this thing today I will resolder and share the results when I install.
     

Share This Page