New at bass, 5 string dilemma, which way to go?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Tombolino, Dec 28, 2012.

1. Tombolino

Tombolino

Hello friends

I am a guitarist learning bass trying to fig out if to stay a 4 string or go 5 string.

Right now I have a 4 string. Regarding a 5 string, I am not interested in the low B (I know its the professional thing to do). I am simply not interested in relearning the fretboard off the B. I am considering a 5 string like this: EADGC or EADGCBb.

1. If I do high Bb, I can use my guitar chords I already know BUT the scales are not symmetric. I always hated the Bb string on the guitar; makes learning scales triple the work.

2. If I do C, the scales would be symmetric and I could free myself from that Bb half step which is annoying and confusing even on guitar BUT I would not have the chords I already know...BUT I suppose I could revoice the chords based on C?

3. Will I need the high string much? I do feel silly that the bass is to sound like a bass but on the other hand, the high string and available chords + my guitar playing can benefit on giving me a unique style?

What do you think?

Thanks

Seb

2. baba

baba

I would reconsider the low B. You aren't relearning the fretboard as stated. Same EADG config with a B tossed on top. At first just use it as a thumb rest if you want, and then work it in as you get used to it.

3. autodidact

autodidact

Just about every 5 string I ever owned ended up being tuned EADGC. The low B is nice...if you're going to use it. I found that I used the high C a lot more for chording and soloing. It throws people off when you're doing a run and you end up on the 12th fret of the high C but in a good way. I just personally find the high string more useable in most cases. That being said if you did go the Bb route, it's really not THAT much of an adjustment and it could open up some possibilities for you if you're already into a little guitar playing.

Just my2 cents.

4. lowphatbass