New Band - I Need an Efficient Cab: Build or buy Used?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by swamp_bass, Dec 21, 2013.

1. swamp_bass

swamp_bass I love it when a groove comes together Supporting Member

Last night I joined a band that is forming. Although I've jammed with the occasional guitarist or drummer friend, it's my first time playing full sets with an entire group (a wide set ranging from classic rock to classic metal).

It was exciting, enjoyable - and I'm glad I brought my earplugs based on the many informative posts in this forum! The volume was brutal in that two-car garage with a heavy handed drummer and two guitarists who like their combos cranked.

My Rumble 60 was obviously barely adequate with the volume set to max. Even if the guitarists get some sanity, the drummer pretty much sets the level and that's loud.

So it's decision time for me. I've built a few home cabinets for practice, but they're sealed designs utilizing leftover car subs that aren't made for volume.

For heads, I have a Markbass Little Mark 250, and a Hartke HA2500.

Since I have building experience, I could go with a Fearful design. The alternative is to pick up a used 410 or something. What's my best path forward for efficient power with one or both of both of those heads? Separates gives me the option of bi-amping.

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    A used 410 would likely be cheaper and easier and do the job for you, but if you can build and you like a cab that's closer to the sound of a PA system, the fEarful is cool.

3. B-string

B-string Gold Supporting Member

You have modest wattage from either amp head, sealed cabs are something to avoid (lower efficiency). Car subs are notorious for wasting huge amounts of power to make little sound and perform even worse in sealed boxes (they are NOT live sound speakers).