1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

New bass amp

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Rzarector, Jan 5, 2014.

1. Rzarector

Rzarector

Hello!
    I am a former guitarist, and recently I bought a bass. I am now searching for a good amp to use with it, but I am not willing to spend anything more than 350usd...

I know that I should not expect to get anything great in that price, but I am looking for something descent at least.

So, I want it to be powerful enough cause I am playing with a drummer and another 2 guitarists on a garage. The music is rock/metal.

I have found the Warwick BC 80 in the right price, but the 80 watt output are not enough according to the drummer. I have found a lot of reviews, but none provides any exact info about whether the amp is heard when playing rock/metal with other people. Also, the amp has two inputs, a passive and an active (I think my bass is passive), so is the power split to 40W+40W? Anyone who owns this little amp please help me, cause I think I really like it, but I don't want to pay for the wrong thing :)

2. Bulldawg82

Bulldawg82 Supporting Member

80 watts will not give you enough in a rock band situation. Generally speaking, you need 3x the wattage your guitarist is using. IMO, 300 watts is just right (but there is nothing wrong with more head-room). Anything more than that, then you will be probably playing thru the FOH/PA. The 300 will give you plenty for monitoring your sound and allowing the rest of the band to hear you.

3. Rzarector

Rzarector

Thanks for the reply :)

The 300 watt minimum you are suggesting sound a little bit like an exaggeration. I am saying this because I tested this bass through an 150 watt before buying, playing with a guitarist and drummer and I was heard very well on 50% volume!