new bass/microfracture question

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by em0tion, Jan 5, 2013.

1. em0tion

em0tion

Hi guys,

I'm new here but this forum kept coming up while I was researching which bass I should get, so it makes sense to turn to you with this question:

I just got a brand new American Standard Precision Bass and decided to change the strings because the factory ones sounded horrible (I put in medium-sized flatwounds). However, I accidentally wound the E string too tightly because I'm an idiot and also because I'm kind of new to basses and have more experience working with guitars instead.

I heard a crack, and that's when I realized I had over-wound it. Anyway, I finished stringing the bass and tuned it. It sounds and feels beautifully now but I noticed a tiny hairline fracture in the body finish at the base of the neck (on the lower cutaway). I have no idea if it was there before I restrung the bass because I never examined it too thoroughly. I've read that these are normal, but is it possible I caused it by over-winding the E string? If so, could this in any way seriously affect the bass?

I'm not really concerned about the appearance or resell value, I just want to make sure this doesn't lead to a more serious problem down the road (especially while I still have the 30-day warranty in effect). And like I said, it feels great and sounds good to me so I'd rather not exchange it.

What do you guys think?

2. line6man

line6man

Exchanging the bass after you damaged it would be unethical.

It should be ok, however.

3. Hobobob74

Hobobob74

I would have to think if it wasn't in the the main line if the strings, but on the lower horn, it probably wasn't from the tightening.

If it wasnt from tightening, and its a bad crack, I would exchange it, cause a new instrument should be flawless from the factory.

4. em0tion

em0tion

OK, thanks guys.