1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

New Bass, New User

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by siloketh, Dec 26, 2013.

1. siloketh

siloketh

Hi everyone. I wasn't sure where to post this but figured this might be an okay place to start.

My name is Daniel, I'm new to guitars and bass entirely but wanted to learn bass because it seemed like a better ground for me to learn and eventually graduate to a electric guitar.

But that's not why I'm here, the reason being is that I just purchased a big beautiful Brownsville 5 string bass and wanted to know more about it from the people who may have played it (this style bass or any bass in general). I picked it up at a pawn shop for $60 after trading in some old items. I would like to know if this is a good bass to start, that my purchase of this bass was a good one and that its not some bad brand of bass guitar. Also, I'd like to know what the three knobs are on the body (top to bottom). Some basics if you will. Any help would be greatly appreciated, I'm new to this and wanted to learn.

[​IMG][​IMG]
  2. 96tbird

96tbird Supporter Supporting Member

Brownsville is not a professional bass. It is an entry level student instrument. That doesn't mean it is bad, just not expensive. The biggest thing is if it's truss rod is operational and the neck is straight, it can generally be made to play fine. You'll have to get a pro guitar tech assess it for you and set it up.

For 60 bucks that's an ok price.