1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

New bass? Or new amp?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Blackhawks55, Oct 16, 2013.

1. Blackhawks55

Blackhawks55

Hello!

I'm starting to get some pre-Christmas jitters and decided to just ponder what I should ask for. First off, I've been playing for about 5 months now, and I am very proud of what I've learned. My inspiration is Geddy Lee, I usually only play RUSH when I jam.

With that said, I am using a 20th anniversary Olympic white squire P-Bass. Everything on it is great, except the action that still is a tad high. I definitely want to hang onto this bass regardless of the decision I make at Christmas time. I had it set up at Guitar center about 2 months ago, new strings were put on, frets were cleaned very well, and some needed some leveling. I just feel like I can get much lower action so I can play a bit easier.

Weighing out my options, I would like to stay in the $300-$400 ballpark for an amp, or a new bass. I am looking into the Ampeg B115 series as it would be ideal for me. Currently not playing in a band, just playing independently, and occasionally with some friends!

As far as guitars go, I definitely want to get a Fender J bass. I hope I can save up some extra money and maybe even push my limits to $400-$500.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thank you! :D

2. Monster Truck

Monster Truck groove student Supporting Member

What amp are you using now?

3. SidMau

SidMau