New Bass Player Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by HiFi Guy, Jan 27, 2014.

1. HiFi Guy

HiFi Guy

Hi All,

First post here. I'm new to bass but have played guitar (poorly in my opinion) for 39 years. I'm 47.

I bought Rocksmith to help improve my guitar playing. It has helped, but I tried bass emulation mode and found I played far better and had more fun. So, I went bass shopping and tried the following listed in order of preference.

Rickenbacker- loved it, but $1950 is nuts for someone starting out.
    Gretsch G5123B which I bought.
    Epiphone Viola
    Hofner 501 Contemporary Series
    Epiphone SG type with one pickup

Plus a bunch of other stuff I didn't like at all, Fender, Ibanez, etc.

I love the appearance, feel, and tone of the Gretsch, but am considering returning it for the Epiphone Viola. After playing the Gretsch for a while (4 hours tonight) my wrist is bothering me kind of like what I imagine carpal tunnel feels like.

I'm wondering if the slimmer neck of the Epiphone Viola would be better for me even though I like the Gretch far more.

Do I just need to build up strength or am I overdoing it? Should I stick with the Gretsch or trade? Money isn't the issue.

Any advice is welcome.
  2. InsaneBassninja

InsaneBassninja

I would try to go find a Used Ibanez 4 or 5 string Rember this if your new your wrists will hurt for a bit until you get used to it. Then again I Bork my wrist back in grade school and still feel it to this day at times. Dang weather changes...
  3. offhand35

offhand35 Supporting Member

I started seriously playing bass 3 years ago, and started with the Viola. I wish now that I had stayed with that one, its quality and tone were way above its price point. I still wound up going back to the short scale Epiphone EBO.