New Bass Recomandation

Discussion in 'Ask Adam Nitti' started by Rahee, Jan 26, 2014.

1. Rahee

Rahee

Hi Nikki,

I'm a bassist here in Bangladesh playing for about 3 months. I own a Ibanez GSR - 205, which I picked up as a beginner model bass. I mostly play rock bass and I'm inspired by Duff Mckagan. I'm also fascinated by progressive rock/metal music. The thing is I dont have clue how to upgrade my gear. Should I change my bass? Or should I make modifications. Musical instruments and accessories are pretty high-priced here( 37.5% tax! Go figure! :( ). What should I do considering the current scene? :help:
  2. bassfan15

bassfan15 Supporting Member

In my opinion, look in the local used market for the best p bass you can afford, that will be a great start.
  3. Rahee

Rahee

Thanks for the advise. :)
  4. adamnitti

adamnitti

hi rahee!

lots and lots of choices out there. the best value will probably come from a used instrument, because of the lower price. that ibanez gsr is actually a really nice bass for the money, but if you like duff mckagan's tone, then it will probably be harder to get out of that bass' configuration. if i recall correctly, duff used a p/j configuration a lot live… something like a used fender jazz bass or fender p bass or fender p/j would get you in the ballpark. of course, there are lots of options from different manufacturers out there with similar pickup configurations, so it probably won't be hard to find something you like.
  5. Rahee

Rahee

Thanks Adam.
  6. Rahee

Rahee

Another question that occured in mind is that should I change my stock pickups( 2 standard J-style single coils) and replacing them with ESP soapbars? Then I have to re-route the wiring and curveout wood from body to fit the soapbars. Will it affect/damage the sound of the bass ? I will obviously hire the best luthier around.
  7. adamnitti

adamnitti