1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

New bassist Please help!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Chiliwaffles, Jun 15, 2011.

1. Chiliwaffles

Chiliwaffles

I'm a new bassist, as the title says, and I'm trying to find a good bass and amp for my style of playing.

My main influences are Steve Harris from Iron Maiden and Geezer Butler from Black Sabbath.

Note: I have only been playing for 10 months and i kinda want a five stringer. Should I do it?
  2. bass4worship

bass4worship Supporting Member

Only you know what you will like so go to your favorite music store and try all the basses you can get your hands on. I bet you'll find the one that feels good in your hands. Do the same for the amps.
  3. kjpollo

kjpollo Supporting Member

Cant do much better than what bass4worship said. Go to as many music stores as you can and try everything they'll let you play.
    Given your influences, I wouldnt be surprised to see you end up with a Precision but you might find something else that really speaks to you.
    Harris has played Precisions almost exclusively in his career and Geezer started out with one, though he's played a lot of different basses over the years.

Everyone has different opinions about starting on a 5 stringer. I'll diplomatically stay out of THAT discussion. :ninja:

Oh yeah, what kind of bass do you have now and what do you think your budget will be for the next one??
  4. bubinga5

bubinga5