new bridge on vintage Fender JB

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by spiritofcatemac, Dec 31, 2012.


  1. spiritofcatemac

    spiritofcatemac

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    I'v got to replace the bridge on my vintage ' 69 Fender JB, anyway the bridge is not original and does not aline properly the strings. I wounder if the


    Official Fender American Standard High Mass Vintage Precision/Jazz Bass Bridge- String-Thru Body or Topload- Genuine Fender
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/2012-Fender-American-Standard-P-Jazz-Bass-BRIDGE-Precision-Chrome-/190773348602?pt=Guitar_Accessories&hash=item2c6afa48fa

    would fit, or if I have to go with the


    Official USA Fender Deluxe Precision/ Jazz Bass Bridge- Deluxe Chrome Plated Steel Bridge Plate
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/2012-USA-Deluxe-Fender-Jazz-P-Bass-BRIDGE-Steel-Brass-American-6-OFF-/360528579320?pt=Guitar_Accessories&hash=item53f12d8af8...

    Thanks, Chris
  2. atomicdog

    atomicdog Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Nothing wrong with hi-mas bridges, but they will change your sound.I find the vintage bridges to be more focused, more punchy.
  3. Bobster

    Bobster

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  4. Batmensch

    Batmensch Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Location:
    Chester, Pa.,USA
    You say the bridge is not original? Any idea what kind it is? Maybe you can post a pic? If I had to replace a bridge on a bass like that, I would get one a sclose as possiblle to what came with it stock,certainly NOT any kind of modern HM bridge. (BTW, is it a reissue '69 or an actual '69?)
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. rockinrayduke

    rockinrayduke Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    This is the way to go, just switch out the saddles with the threaded ones.
  7. 96tbird

    96tbird Supporter Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
  8. spiritofcatemac

    spiritofcatemac

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Thank you to every opinion. I is a original vintage Bass but the bridge is not Fender and there is no way to change saddles. It has a higher mass then the original. This bridges were installed also on Warwick basses in the 80's. The former owner installed this bridge as the original one would no let him slap as he liked to. I never changed it as it did the job more ore less for me. I brought now the bass in for service and I was recommended to change the saddle. I also was told the the original vintage bridge is not that precise for set-up as the newer ones and that was my main concern. Chris
  9. spiritofcatemac

    spiritofcatemac

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    I found a foto...

    [​IMG]
  10. 96tbird

    96tbird Supporter Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    The vintage bridge when set up by someone that knows how ( takes five seconds to learn) is every bit as accurate as any fancy new bridge. Any one that says its not accurate is not to be trusted because they have no clue. The accuracy of turning a screw to intonate is entirely dependent on the ability of the person to control their muscles from spasms or palsies;

    When you intonate a bass, there is NEVER perfection all the way up and down the neck. You have to compromise a bit. No matter what people say, there is no perfect pitch on a fretted instrument.
  11. 96tbird

    96tbird Supporter Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    Schaller.
  12. JLS

    JLS Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Location:
    Emeryville, Ca
    Disclosures:
    I setup & repair guitars & basses
    Your BS detector should have started going off, right about then.
  13. Batmensch

    Batmensch Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Location:
    Chester, Pa.,USA
    Indeed. Sounds like someone is trying to sell you a more expensive bridge. Get a proper Fender bridge with threaded saddles.
  14. Bobster

    Bobster

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    As long as there isn't any mechanical issue with the Schaller bridge, don't change a thing.

    Just set it up and go play!

    Bob
  15. 96tbird

    96tbird Supporter Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    OP says it doesn't align the strings properly. Does he know the saddle spread is adjustable?
  16. Batmensch

    Batmensch Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Location:
    Chester, Pa.,USA
    Looking at the pic again Tbird's right. No need for any kind of new bridge if you don't want one. Like I said, it sounds like the tech is tying to sell you a bridge you don't need.
  17. walterw

    walterw Supportive Fender Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    not a fan of those schaller roller bridges (i think they're tone sponges) but you can obviously adjust the string spacing to your heart's content.

    +1 to ditching it for a proper vintage-style bridge with the threaded saddles.

Share This Page