New build - need opinions

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by mahrous, Nov 7, 2012.

1. mahrous

mahrous

Hi all,

I am usually a lurker here and going by my own business etc.

But for this instrument, I am suck at selecting my wood combo. I have been building instruments for close to 8 years now - mostly basses. I haven't built a 6 strings bass yet but now is the time and it will be my own personal instrument.

My current full time bass is a 4strings fretless I built 2 years ago. Mahoganny core, walnut lams and zebrawood tops and backs. Full 3pc Wenge neck with an ebony fingerboard epoxied.
    Seymour Duncan Quarterpound pups with it's 3band MM preamp 9V from SD again. The pups placement is a bit unorthodox but they give me a really fat sound on the fretless that is a bit similar to Upright tone
    I am also an EUB player (a Stagg that's not too fancy but is alright)

My music is basically gospel/church music. And since I am from Egypt, our church music is not really what you would think of like in the US. We do more classical stuff (hence the EUB and soon arco) etc.

Why all the info? I am looking for a really REALLY mellow sound, the attack needs to be smooth and linear. Equal tone throughout and nothing too punchy. Sure a little punch is nice when only put under my control.

New bass build - here is what I have thought out/purchased:
    Hipshot tuners
    Hipshot Type A bridge
    Delano SBC6 HE/4 (quad coil buckers that I am interested in tapping (sic?) into it's full potential)
    Aguilar OBP3 preamp - again, still trying to sort out my circuit to go passive/active and midrange selector knob
    Fretted
    Single cut carved (like Ritter's R8)

These are what I have 100% set and purchased.

Options for woods available in my stock:
    Maple, Mahoganny, Walnut, Padauk, Palisander, Wenge, Ebony, Swamp Ash, Cherry, Bubinga, Zebra and may be that's it.